Remix.run Logo
xboxnolifes 2 days ago

Oh they aren't a frontier on this. Undoing user configuration is well tested in Windows land.

mcmcmc 2 days ago | parent | next [-]

This is a problem everywhere, Apple does the same thing on MacOS by reverting privacy/security grants to apps

threetonesun 2 days ago | parent [-]

Reverting... to on? I've seen some stuff in Apple-land where I'm pretty sure it went back to the default option after an update but I've never seen anything get granted more permissions.

mcmcmc 2 days ago | parent [-]

No, like specific apps that have been granted full disk access etc lose their permissions. It’s hell for IT, constantly breaks AV. I would not characterize that as reverting to a default. More often it’s a breaking change for how the security model works that ends up requiring reauthorization

threetonesun 2 days ago | parent | next [-]

Ah, sure, it's annoying but it's never giving new permissions you didn't give it before. And yes "revert to default" is probably not what's happening, but reverting to forcing a specific permission grant when the existing one was superceeded or replaced.

mcmcmc 2 days ago | parent [-]

Fair, it’s still an example of them not respecting user configuration

lbreakjai 2 days ago | parent [-]

I understand the rationale. The app you granted full disk access three months ago might have significantly changed. You can't reset the permissions for a given app after every update, as you might end up prompting the user three times per week.

croon a day ago | parent | prev [-]

The alternative would be keeping a permission granted for an app that might have had an update introducing nefarious behavior, whether intentional or not.

Annoying yes, but least bad.

Yizahi 2 days ago | parent | prev [-]

"Remember my choice", right?:)