Remix.run Logo
ColinWright 7 hours ago

I refer you to this:

https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=49643556

Quoting:

> "I've reset this more than once and the last time I made a careful note of when I did it and to my surprise I found it re-enabled when I checked just now."

asimpleusecase 7 hours ago | parent | next [-]

Old Facebook trick - likely resetting that box each time the app is updated.

morkalork 6 hours ago | parent [-]

"We've made some updates to improve the security and privacy experience" => "We've changed some of the options available and reset everyone to defaults"

unified101 6 hours ago | parent | prev | next [-]

In all fairness this is someone saying something. Misremembering happens. Unless we have something with a bit more evidence, the simpler explanation suffices.

tomrod 5 hours ago | parent [-]

In more accurate assessment rather than assuming no maliciousness nor incompetence, remembering also happens. Unless we fail as a society, the simpler explanation that "OpenAI is training on all data it can and resetting config toggles because it uses the same cohort of engineers that came from Meta and other FANGAMAAMMAM clones" suffices.

jrflo 6 hours ago | parent | prev | next [-]

I wasn't aware of that, definitely a shady practice if that's the case.

ProllyInfamous 6 hours ago | parent | prev | next [-]

>"reset this more than once ... to my surprise I found it re-enabled"

At least when my computer's bluetooth exhibits this behavior (e.g: if you don't have a keyboard&mouse plugged in at boot, bluetooth might auto-enable), I can go inside the hardware and physically disconnect the antenna.

What am I supposed to do in software (perhaps hardcode config.file)? in cloud software services (??)?

dataflow 4 hours ago | parent | prev [-]

Has anyone else seen this happen? I checked and my setting is still off.