| ▲ | teekert 2 hours ago | |||||||||||||
You are "opting in to sharing your prompts for training", by default in this case. My slider says: "Allow the use of your interactions with Vibe to train Mistral's AI models.", it is on by default for everyone on the Team plan, the admin can't centrally turn it off anymore, and any user can toggle it when they want to. This all changed last week. I know I'm naive but I expect that when I pay, this stuff is simply off, so I was already surprised by the Pro plan. But I did look out for it there, because Anthropic made this switch some time ago. | ||||||||||||||
| ▲ | nozzlegear 29 minutes ago | parent | next [-] | |||||||||||||
> You are "opting in to sharing your prompts for training", by default in this case. I understand what you're saying here, but maybe "turned on by default" is less confusing for everyone. | ||||||||||||||
| ▲ | KPGv2 2 hours ago | parent | prev [-] | |||||||||||||
> You are "opting in to sharing your prompts for training", by default in this case. The English term for that is "opt out" not "opt in." To opt is to choose. If something is on by default, you have not opted in. You were forced in, and turning it off means you must opt out. (I.e., choose to be out.) normally I wouldn't care about a mistake like this, except that opt in/out are very important concepts in software development and hacker culture. And it reversed the meaning of the original comment in a highly confusing, relevant way. | ||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||