Remix.run Logo
dt3ft a day ago

Older people (seen it at 65+) will just click the nag without knowing what the button does and end up beaming up all photos to google cloud with no ability to disable the nag (it keeps showing up after a while) even when dismissed. If you are concerned about your data privacy, you may want to check on what photos of say your kids your parents are beaming up to google without their or your knowledge.

nom 19 hours ago | parent [-]

It is worse than that. It fills up your accounts cloud storage, where your Google docs, sheets, drive files etc are stored.

Once full you are caught in their trap: pay a monthly fee to the mafia or delete your data!

This flow is intentional and they have set up everything to bring you there. The Photo-Backup popup (and arguably the whole photo feature) helps to shovel users more quickly to the end of the monetization funnel.

0sdi 19 hours ago | parent [-]

storing important files with google is risky business anyway. you could lose them for any other stupid reason, and im sure there is nothing you can do but blame yourself for trusting them.